Love Language Profile for Children

I know we have a copy of The 5 Love Languages for Children. I bought it when our son was 2 years old. Because Jeff and I feel strongly about knowing what the primary and secondary love languages of our loved ones are (to effectively express our love for them), I was set on knowing what my son’s love languages are back then. And then I lost the book.  Transferring and house juggling can do that to a part-time frazzled momma. Haha! I tried checking with a local bookstore just recently and I cannot spot one. I only saw copies of The 5 Love Languages for Teens and that’s it. Then our 8 year old asked about it himself… 

love language profile for children

My interest on Love Language Profile for Children was brought upon our little guy (who has been regularly sitting in the The 5 Love Languages class that his father has been teaching at church these past few weeks). We went home the other night proclaiming that his love language is “Receiving Gifts.” I had to explain to him that he could be right. But he can also be surprised to find out that it might not be his love language. I told him to know for sure, he has to take a Love Language Profile test for Children. And so I had him do the test today and found out that he has 2 Primary Love Languages – “Words of Affirmation” and “Quality Time”. His secondary love language is “Acts of Service.”

Before I head on over to discuss more about my son’s primary and secondary love languages, allow me to link you guys back to some articles I wrote from 2008 about The 5 Love Languages.

I never thought I had that much posts on The 5 Love Languages! Thanks to Gary Chapman who came up with his book. Contrary to what some people think “love language” means, it is not the language you speak when you express love to your family and friends.  A person’s love language is how he best receives love through “the manner” it is spoken.

The 5 Love Languages are the following:

  1. Words of Affirmation
  2. Quality Time
  3. Receiving Gifts
  4. Acts of Service
  5. Physical Touch

Through the classes Jeff conducted, I recently found out that a person’s love language can actually shift from one kind to another. I have always known my love language to be “Quality Time.” I took that profile test early in our marriage, almost 12 years ago. Through child rearing and I gather, homeschooling has a lot to do with it too, my primary love language is now, “Words of Affirmation.” Probably because I practice “Words of Affirmation” on a daily basis, it has probably rewired me to feel loved through the same avenue. 🙂

A snippet of what I blogged about The 5 Love Languages back in 2009:

The hubby and I were blessed to have encountered this book early in our marriage. It made us identify our own love languages, which made us realize why we respond the way we do. It also made us see and understand each other’s love language. As foreign as the language of the other is to us, we now know the value of learning it and speak it as our respective second language. It cannot be more articulated better than Gary Chapman did in his book. Showing love is not just about throwing whatever we think and feel, as each individual is uniquely wired. Even as we vowed to love our spouses on our wedding day, the imperfect people that we are have our tendencies to fall short somewhere, somehow. 

Check Your Love Language Profile
Love Language Profile for Husbands:
Love Language Profile for Wives:
Love Language Profile for Children:

We are free to love our family and friends in the manner we want to. But learning how to speak to them in their “native” love language will guarantee the best absorption of the love that we express. It is one of those things we do to being intentional in how we love our family. 🙂

Love Language Profile for Children

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.